National Certificate Occupationally Directed Education Training And Development Practices


National Certificate: Occupationally Directed Education Training and Development Practices

This qualification is for those who want to build on a FETC in any field to enter the field of ODETD as a potential career, and have little or no previous exposure to ETD. The qualification will also be valuable for those who may have been practising within the field, but without formal recognition. This qualification will be useful for:
  • ·Learning facilitators.
  • Assessors.
  • Learner and learning supporters. · Skills Development Facilitators.

This qualification will provide practitioners with the general ETD skills required at NQF level 5 across five key ETD roles, with the opportunity to specialise further in one of the following four roles:

  • Design and develop learning interventions. · Facilitate learning.
  • Design and conduct assessments.
  • Facilitate skills development.

Practitioners will generally carry out their role within the context of:

  • Given Quality Assurance policies, procedures and processes.
  • A guided and supported learning environment.

Programme Structure

The qualification consists of SIX (6) modules and a Final Integrated Summative Assessment (FISA) (explained in section 1.3).

This programme serves as a continuous professional development opportunity, which is aligned to the following unit standards:

Programme modules

Background to Training and Development

Design and Develop Learning Programme and Processes

Facilitate and Evaluate Learning

Provide Learning Support

Assessment and Moderation

Skills Development Facilitation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

 Communicate in a variety of ETD settings.

 Design and develop learning programmes and process.

 Facilitate and evaluate learning.

 Engage in and promote assessment practices.

 Provide learning support to learners and organisations.

 Conduct skills development facilitation.

This programme is accredited against the following SAQA Qualification.

On completion, the following certification will be awarded:

A ETDP Seta Certificate & Services Seta Statement of Achievement will be awarded to all delegates who successfully complete all portfolio requirements; or

A ETDP Seta Statement of Achievement will be awarded to all delegates who successfully complete some, but not all, of the modules’ portfolio requirements. The Statement of Results will only reflect the modules successfully completed; or

A Regenesys Certificate of Attendance will be awarded to all delegates who attended all training sessions, but who do not complete any portfolio requirements successfully.

It is assumed that practitioners have expertise in the subject/occupation field in which they intend to provide education, training and development, at a level required to engage meaningfully in ETD within that field.
Recognition of Prior Learning:

It is also assumed that learners working towards this qualification hold a FETC or equivalent. Further learning assumptions are specified within the associated unit standards where required.

WhatsApp chat